Ask the artist: Eve Schroeder

Eve Schroeder is a third year Illustration with Animation student at Manchester School of Art. Her work is inspired by nature, the human body, queer identity and Fat Justice. Her work is multimedia, incorporating textiles, cyanotype, ceramics, laser cut wood, painting and animation.

Her current exhibition Under the Sun at Compact Contemporary runs from January 21st – February 11th 2023 (see below for opening times).

Eve Schroeder in her studio at Manchester school of Art (photo provided by Eve).

You work across a variety of media. The exhibition at Compact Contemporary features felting, a textile with a cyanotype print, and laser cut wooden figures. You also work in watercolour, ceramics and animation. Do you have a favourite media, and how do you decide which media to use when you have an idea for illustration?

 I don’t really think too much about what media I am going to use, I just like to have a variety and love to experiment with new materials. I suppose it is what is available to me and my favourite probably depends on what mood I am in. I think I don’t want to be too associated with one thing at this point in my life and feel like I am expected to make a certain thing. 

Whilst I am at university it is nice to use the facilities as much as possible, hence I have been doing alot of ceramics recently. Ceramics is fun because it can be quite unpredictable, and requires a lot of experimentation and patience. The process is quite slow and it is nice to have a change of pace. 

For this exhibition I thought the smoothness of the laser would contrast well with the fuzziness of the felt, and having the figure separated from the felt added more depth/dimension and suited the space more.

Your work is inspired by nature, the human body and queer identity. You have also drawn on themes of Fat Justice – can you explain what this term means to you, and what do you hope viewers of your work will take away from viewing it?

To me these are all important themes to explore as they represent my interests/ passions, and who I am. It is common for the fat body to be vilified in the media. Anti-fat biases are deeply ingrained into our society, and this needs to change; art is a good vehicle for activism and making visible change. I want to use my art to encourage people to address any anti-fat biases they may hold, even if it makes them uncomfortable. Everyone deserves the same level of respect, access to resources and care, these things should not change based upon a judgement of someone’s worth due to their appearance.

How did you decide on taking the path to become an illustrator/animator? Is it something you were always interested in?

 I think I have always been on an art path, I grew up in a home that really celebrated making. I did an art foundation because I wasn’t 100% set on art, but doing that made me realise I should stick with the art and follow through with it as long as I could. When applying, illustration with animation seemed a natural choice, I didn’t have to think too much about it. It sated my need for animation whilst allowing me to explore other directions.

The opening event for Under the Sun, January 2023.

Under the Sun by Eve Schroeder is open for drop in visitors on Wednesday 25th January 10:00-14:00 and Sunday 5th February 11:00-14:00 🌞🌞🌞 Or by appointment (email mylittlehelen@yahoo.co.uk to make an appointment in advance). Visitors are most welcome during drop in hours, please ring the doorbell! (Outside of advertised hours please make an appointment.) Located at Spinning Mill Studios at Sunny Bank Mills in Farsley, Leeds LS18 5UJ

Compact Contemporary is a micro gallery in a shed, in the studio of artist/curator Helen Dryden. Is is part of the Guild of Micro Galleries.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started